The Beauty of Birth

While I am taking some time to enjoy being a new mom, I asked a few friends to step in and share with you a little bit about their journey when it comes to their health. I am so excited for you to hear about all of the different ways women are taking control of their health and thriving in our not so healthy world.

Today’s guest is a wonderful friend of mine by the name of Vicki. I have known Vicki for years but have more recently spent time conversing with her due to some concerns I had during my pregnancy. She was absolutely wonderful and a great support to me during that time and I cannot thank her enough for her kindness and love.

c6f9366170680e26309e6054ac50318f

Society likes to scare women into thinking that childbirth is the most torturous, terrifying experience a woman can go through in her life. It saddens me to think that so many women approach childbirth with fear and dread. Some women are so afraid of giving birth that they joke that they want pain relief even before the first contraction.

As a mother of 5 children and a birth doula for 6+ years, I want to take a moment to share my opinion about what childbirth is to me: Childbirth is hard work: Giving birth to a human being is not an easy stroll in the park. Childbirth takes patience and perseverance and that’s why it is so often compared to a marathon. You are going to have to work hard, be patient and trust your body.

Childbirth is NOT torture: The most common question I get asked about childbirth is, “How bad does it hurt?” Ladies and gents, I’d be lying if I said that there is no pain involved with contractions. However, I have found that the more fearful you are about giving birth, the more pain you experience. Fear creates tension and tension creates pain. A great resource to help eliminate the fear of childbirth is www.birthwithoutfear.com. This website is filled with wonderful stories that will encourage you and get you excited about giving birth.

Childbirth is the most AMAZING experience: Yes, you read that correctly. It’s time to set aside any preconceived notions that you have about childbirth and focus on the fact that childbirth is absolutely the most incredible thing you will ever do. You get to experience firsthand how miraculously your body knew how to grow, nourish and birth your child. You will watch in amazement as God breathes life into your child as he takes his first breath. Meeting your child will be a moment that you treasure for a lifetime.

Becoming pregnant and giving birth to your child is a life changing gift. You will feel like your life wasn’t complete until this precious child entered your life. Isaiah 41:10 NLT “Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.”

About Vicki:

1545564_10153056140019611_7241908072409316137_n

Vicki is a blogger as well and her very real life blog can be found here.

Vicki has a small business selling Elderberry Syrup and her info can be found here.

Vicki had her last child on her bathroom floor!

Leave a Reply

