Body, Soul and Spirit

While I am taking some time to enjoy being a new mom, I asked a few friends to step in and share with you a little bit about their journey when it comes to their health. I am so excited for you to hear about all of the different ways women are taking control of their health and thriving in our not so healthy world.

Today’s guest is a wonderful friend of mine by the name of Ashli. Ashli and I have known each other for quite a few years, and it was actually through this blog and a bit of a health issue of hers that we reconnected about 2 years ago. Ashli has been a huge encouragement to me and I am so thankful for her genuine and warm heart. I am blown away by Ashli on a regular basis; her positivity, energy (she had 3 boys in about 18 months) and thoughtfulness are just a few reasons as to why I love our phone calls and conversations via text.

Ashli’s story is a bit unique in that it is so much more about physical health, but that is why I knew you all needed to hear/read it! So thank you again Ashli for stepping in today on my behalf and I hope you all enjoy her story!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Stresses of Life

First off, I want to thank Leah for asking me to be a guest on her blog. She’s doing some great things on here and I enjoy learning from each of her posts. It’s an honor to be a part of it. I’m so thankful for her genuine friendship. I’m praying this new season of motherhood will be full of joy! It’s an adventure!

I wanted to share a little bit about what health means to me and our family. I know to each family this can look a little different. Our house is a busy one with three little boys, 4 years old and then three year old twins. There’s never a dull moment, but I wouldn’t change it for the world! My husband had done a lot of research about organic food and natural living even before we had kids, but it was after our first son was born that we really started shifting our choices. I still remember being in the kitchen one evening and I felt God speak to my heart. He told me that it was time to start making some changes. That I was the one preparing the meals for my family and they should be real, living and organic foods. From that moment, the journey began. It has certainly been a journey and it was NOT an overnight process! It was gradual. Our grocery trips began to look a little different as I began to learn about the differences between conventional and organic foods.

When our son was about 9 months old we found out we were pregnant again and at our 20 week ultrasound we found out we were having identical twin boys! Oh my! You can imagine the joy… and shock! The twins were born when our oldest son was 16 months, it was a crazy busy season! Shortly after they were born I was not feeling “right” and began the elimination diet, finding out that gluten was not agreeing with me. I’ve since cut gluten out and it’s been almost 3 years. That forced me to eat even cleaner and research even more on our family’s clean eating journey. Has it been perfect, nope, but it’s been great and we are constantly learning. My husband and I love supporting local farmers (yay, for summer farmers markets!) and we’ve also implemented essential oils into our journey. We love to support companies with integrity and so, Young Living Essential Oils have been such a blessing for us! Whether if someone is fighting a sickness or allergies or we just need a good nights sleep (and what mama doesn’t want that!) or I need a healthy cleaner, they’ve been fabulous. I’ve also started an adrenal fatigue program with some natural supplements. All of these changes through the last few years have been a wonderful journey as we try to take care of these temples God has given us.

Which leads me to what’s really been on my heart for this post. One thing that I constantly have to keep in check is that although it’s so important for us to take care of our physical body, how much more important is it that we keep our spirit and soul well fed? We are made up of spirit, soul and body. How often do we drink our green smoothie, prepare our free range eggs and bacon each morning and yet forget the Bread of Life? The God of the Bible that created you, that would move Heaven and Earth to know you, love you, change you, and use you for all He created you to be. I think too often we focus on our spiritual life less than we should (no condemnation for those in Christ! I’m speaking to myself here too!). We wonder why we still don’t “feel” as good as we think we should. I know for myself, if I am carrying the weight of life and letting things stress me out instead of giving them to Jesus, my gut will feel the same as if I ate gluten. It’s amazing that when we carry the stresses of life around (when we are not meant to) it can affect our physical bodies in a negative way. True joy, rest, peace and strength come from Jesus alone. No matter how well we take care of our physical body, I’ve learned that without Him, it will never be all we need. I desire to have more and more of Him shining through me daily, but that can only happen if I am feeding my spirit through God’s Word and being in His presence. Just like we invest in our physical health through organic and living foods, we need to be spending time with Jesus to be equipped, empowered and changed to be all He’s called us to be as His children and to know Him more. This will bring complete health to our bodies and true life. I have to constantly keep my heart in check that although healthy choices are important for me and my family, He is still my Sustainer. So as busy moms, how can we do this? It’s hard to get up at 5am when your little one may have been up a few times that night or if your kids get up really early (like mine!) and you stumble to the kitchen just to get your coffee! How do we sit in God’s presence, read His Word and pray and listen to make sure we are feeding our spirit daily? There are no rules, I believe God will lead you for what will work best for you. I have a close friend that when her kids were little, she used to have her time with God after they went to bed at night. I love mornings so I try to have my quiet time in the morning, but it does not always work out that way and I have to adjust it to later that day! Either way, investing in spending time with your Father, with always be worth it! Keep feeding your spirit, listen to worship music through your day (your kids will love it too!), talk with God and be listening to hear from Him as well. Every day He will lead you and guide you as you put Him first in your journey to complete health!

1 Timothy 4:8 (NIV)

For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.

About Ashli

 

  • I was a gymnast & cheerleader growing up. The last time I did a somersault I got so dizzy and almost fell over! Funny how things change after babies!
  • I actually really like green smoothies
  • My husband and I love watching worship sets together
Leave a Reply

