Eat To Live

While I am taking some time to enjoy being a new mom, I asked a few friends to step in and share with you a little bit about their journey when it comes to their health. I am so excited for you to hear about all of the different ways women are taking control of their health and thriving in our not so healthy world.

Today I would like you to meet Lisa. I have known her for many, many years and she truly is a wonderful and beautiful woman inside and out. About a year ago I started noticing her post on pinterest some vegan articles, recipes and blog posts. Because she didn’t fill her facebook news feed with stories of how she was transitioning into become a vegetarian and now vegan, I had no idea she was making such a huge change in her diet. When I was thinking of women to ask to guest blog, this was the real reason why I chose her. It is obvious that the changes she has made in her lifestyle and diet are genuinely for her and nothing else.

So please sit back, sip on something delicious and hear all about Lisa and her wonderful journey to better health. I know that I have learned so much from her whether or not she even realizes it and I’m positive you will too!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Eat To Live

My Journey to (mostly) vegan-ness Hello!! I am super excited that Leah has asked me to share a bit of my personal journey with you! Like most Americans, I used to live off meat and dairy with little fruit or veggies in my day. Eating a big salad, covered with ranch and cheese was my idea of healthy! Though I have always valued home cooking and vowed I would provide this for my family, it wasn’t always as healthy as it could be. Not as bad as a box but no where near the goodness of clean eating.

Over the past couple years, my thinking about food has radically changed. I’ve always been interested in healthy foods, but it wasn’t until I started having some minor health issues that I decided to take some action. After having a baby and going from a full time job to working part time from my home, I had packed on 50 extra pounds that I just couldn’t drop. A couple years later, I started experiencing random heart palpitations that lasted for several months (Yes, I did see a doctor). My blood pressure had always been good, but high blood pressure does run in my family so that was another concern of mine. With the extra weight and now some health concerns, this was the incentive I needed to get serious and really start caring about what I put in my body as well as what I fed my family.

On the recommendation of my sister, I picked up the book “Eat to Live” by Dr. Joel Fuhrman. I won’t get into much detail about his plan, but he coined the term “Nutritarian”, which in his words is a “diet which is a way of eating that bases food choices on maximizing the micronutrients per calorie” (https://www.drfuhrman.com). To me, he is a wealth of knowledge and I highly recommend picking up this book. I was so interested in the facts and statistics he shared, that I could not put it down! It literally transformed my way of thinking. He believes that a whole food plant based diet eliminating virtually all animal products and greatly reducing the amount of oil we use, is the healthiest way of eating. His plan really worked for me and amazingly, after I started consuming plants and eliminated animal products, the heart palpitations went away! In addition, my skin started to glow, I had more energy than had in years, and I dropped 35 pounds within a few months! On this journey, I realized that for me, a mostly vegan, plant based whole food lifestyle suits me best. In my opinion, it is the healthiest way of eating and I find it inspiring and challenging to come up with creative ways of cooking foods that aren’t typical in the Standard American Diet. Although I have personal convictions about animal treatment in the food industry, this way of eating is strictly based on personal choice when it comes to my health and not for any other reason. With that being said, I do still prepare animal based foods for my family (from responsible sources), but through my journey, my family has started eating much healthier as well as including many raw and cooked veggies and fruits.

Thank you for taking time to read my story. My hope is that other regular, every-day women like me who struggle with similar issues might be inspired to take steps to better health! You deserve it and so does your family!! You may have to re-train your brain and your taste buds, but believe me, once you start eating fresh living plant based food, you will start to crave it!!

About Lisa:

11356215_10205227503461150_1313043166_n

  • I’m left handed.
  • I’m a Michigan native, born and raised but living in Tampa fl.
  • My favorite food: Give me grape leaves, hummus, falafel and fattoush salad and i am the happiest girl in the world!
Leave a Reply

