Hard Things

I no longer fear doing hard things in life…

I can do hard things

I once did… in fact, there once was a time tat I sat in an airport and cried because I new I had to do something hard that I just didn’t want to do.

Here is what happened… two days before my wedding shower, my now husband got a call that he received a job in DC. He was at the time, living in Nashville and I was living in Michigan. This phone call resulted in my husband driving from Nashville to Michigan and then 3 days later, us driving back to Nashville. From there we drove to D.C. for 3 days and then drove back to Nashville, and there I got on a plane to fly back to Michigan. One short week after that, I got back in the car with my brother and sister to drive down to Nashville to move my husband to D.C., after a very quick trip, my brother, sister and I got back in the car and drove home to Michigan. Except that didn’t quite play out to well.

Half way back to Michigan, it came to our attention that my husbands badge was in MY CAR. This badge was needed for him to start work the next day. We couldn’t turn around and get the badge back to my husband because of my brother and sister’s work schedule. So we had to finish the drive home and then I had to somehow get back to D.C. with the badge. I tried to get a flight out, however there wasn’t a single one available.

This is where the whole ‘me crying in an airport all by myself’ thing happened. Pretty much, from here I had to get back in the car and drive to D.C. in the middle of the night. Once in D.C. I slept for about 4 hours then got back in the car and drove home to Michigan.

That crying in the airport thing, it was just simply be not wanting to do something that I knew I had to do. It was going to be hard it was going to be trying and I was tired… like really REALLY tired!

d971a843c7654f9ca35f3d1e16321b9c

My life hasn’t gotten much “easier” in the last year. In fact, my life has simply consisted of hard thing, after hard thing, after hard thing. Non of my plans have gone my way and life is beautifully messy.

But can I tell you something… I wouldn’t change it for the world. I’ve learned that I can do hard things… not because of me or my abilities but because of the grace of God and the choice to have a good attitude.

My life isn’t going to be getting any easier here any time soon. I will have a crying infant on my hands in no time at all as well as a whole slew of emotions that are new, terrifying and will probably make me feel crazy. But that’s ok! Because I don’t need to be afraid of how things will work out. They will workout and I have faith in that.

Can I please just encourage you today that YOU CAN DO HARD THINGS!!!! You don’t have to be afraid of what it will look and feel like to be stretched paper thing, to be pushed to your max or to be tried in ways you didn’t know existed.

Don’t be afraid of hard things today… instead be invigorated and excited by the fact that what ever you are facing you will over come and while doing so you will become a better person who is stronger and more powerful than before.

 

2 thoughts on “Hard Things

Leave a Reply

