Strawberry Slush

Real Food Slushie

During my Freshman year of college, I took a sociology class and we had to read this book. Since then, I have slightly fallen in love with learning about cults, the occult and other minority groups whether religious or cultural. I often read blog that are written by Mormon women as well as Jewish women because I am simply fascinated by them and wish so badly I could live their lives for just one day. I also love to watch shows such as Sister Wives, 19 Kids and Counting, Braking Amish and even Southern Charm. I am terribly aware of the fact that my life is so very, VERY different than so many other people’s in this world and I quite frankly cannot get enough of watching these people and their lives unfold in front of a camera.

I was recently bored, and found the show Big Love OnDemand. Guys, I can-NOT stop watching it. It is similar to Sister Wives, but different in that it is not reality. I will justify my love for reality T.V. by saying that it is better to watch drama than to partake in it! And I will justify watching non-reality T.V. by suggesting that it is helping me learn and grow. Now, I understand that these are terribly weak arguments but I will stand by them. I will also add to them that I am having a baby soon and I will be so sleep deprived that my ability to plop in front of the T.V. and veg will be long gone so I should probably enjoy it while it lasts 😉

On to today’s post… it is a delicious recipe to show you just how easy switching from a Standard American Diet to a Real Food Diet can be and is!

Anyone love slurpees? Actually I should rephraze that… after living in the south, I came to realize that unlike Michigan, 7-11 stores cannot be found on most street corners. So, perhaps your “slurpee” is actually called a “freezy” or a “ICEE”. Whatever it may be, they are a life saver in the summer heat and quite the delicious treat. Unfortunately though, they don’t do much of anything for our waistlines. They are also more likely than not loaded with chemicals that are far from being healthy or considered food.

My love for slurpees has been growing lately and I decided that this is an area of eating that could be tweaked to become a bit less quilt ridden. The results…. well it actually took me a while to get this recipe the way I wanted it, BUT the end result is ridiculously good! In fact, I have to stop myself from eating/drinking one of these everyday. So here it is…

Strawberry Slush Recipe

Ingredients…

  • 1 Cup of Frozen Strawberries
  • 2 Tbsp of Lemon, Lime or Grapefruit Juice
  • 2 Cups of Ice
  • 1 Tsp Sweetener (I used honey)

Directions…

  1. Place all ingredients in a blender
  2. Blend for approximately 2 minutes on high**
  3. Pour into 2 glasses and enjoy

** Blending thoroughly is crucial, it is the difference between a bland smoothie and a slush. This make take stop stopping and tasting to get the right consistency based on what type of blender you use.

I hope you guys really enjoy this recipe. My goal is to give all of you the confidence and information so that you can try and love eating a Real Food Diet so that ultimately you can feel better and live a more fulfilling life.

 

Have you ever watch any of the shows that I mentioned above?

Do you have any T.V. shows that you watch that are a bit of guilty pleasure?

Have you tried yet any of this weeks steps to clean up your diet and live a more Real Food lifestyle?

 

7 thoughts on “Strawberry Slush

  1. Pingback: The Best Broccoli Ever! | THE KITCHEN REVOLUTION

  2. Pingback: Summer Recipe Round Up | THE KITCHEN REVOLUTION

Leave a Reply

