Catching Up

Where has this summer gone? Where did I go? And where is the sunshine?

IMG_174808270233934(1)

(These last few weeks have been terribly uncomfortable, but I honestly think I have done tremendous growing in every part of my life)

The last time I had anything to say on this blog was right before my wedding shower… I think that’s when it was. Anyways, so very much has gone on since then!

My mom threw my guy and I a wonderful shower. So many people came and were terribly generous with love, encouragement, excitement and gifts.

20140628_142834

Just shy of 48 hours later… we were headed to Nashville to pack up his things and go check D.C. out for the 4th of July weekend.

The trip to D.C. was short, but great! It included us seeing an amazing 4th of July parade, finding (with the wonderful help and grace of family members) a place to stay through the end of the year AND the realization that I know next to nothing about our country’s history.

white house

I was wonderfully excited when I saw this building, because… well, I thought it was the white house. Also, this picture isn’t staged… it really did happen and my sweet fiance had to deal with me all day because this wasn’t the only landmark I was very wrong about.

The trip back to Nashville was TERRIBLE!!!!!

trip

There were not enough hypothetical questions in the world to keep me entertained and I’m positive my main squeeze was sick of hearing me “belt out” show tunes. At one point he turned some rap music on and I decided to take a nap. Looking back, this may have been a strategic move on his part. If so, well played honey 😉

The next day (Sunday) I hopped on a plane and headed back to the mitten but not for long.

By the middle of the night Wednesday/into the wee hours of the morning Thursday, I was back in my car on the road again with a few of my siblings in tow. They came to help get the fiance moved to D.C. as well as drive a vehicle there. The trip down was wonderful, and definitely filled with memories. At one point, we had to stop somewhere in the armpit of America, ummmmmm… I mean Ohio (they need to increase their speed limit) so that I could change my clothes because mid laugh, while I was driving mind you, I managed to spill/spit our my green juice all over myself and my car.

Once we were in Nashville, we got situated in cars/moving trucks and headed to D.C.

The trip there was made a bit more fun via walkie-talkes and code names, music and the questioning of my sister and my knowledge via questions that quite frankly we just couldn’t answer about things like the bill of rights, the real reason for time zones and many other unrealistic topics.

Once we were to D.C… alot of this happened.

photo bomb 2

Followed by a lot of this…

photo bomb

It seemed like in no time at all, we were back in my car headed for Detroit.

On the way home, we got a little surprise though. About half way back to Michigan, we came to the realization that my soon to be hubbies badge for work was in my car. This badge… it’s kind of a huge part of his job and he can’t do anything without it. In fact, if he didn’t have it by the next morning, he wouldn’t be able to start his new job that we moved many states for. So, yeah… it was kind of needed a.s.a.p.

Which meant… I was dropped off at the Detroit Airport by my siblings to search for a flight back to D.C. There weren’t any… I’m not even kind of kidding when I tell you that I couldn’t get on a direct or connecting flight from Detroit to D.C. or it’s 3 surrounding airports.

My heart broke and I sat in the airport crying and exhausted knowing that this meant I would have to drive back to D.C. and I would have to do so immediately.

I felt like I was seriously over reacting in this situation but I was SOOOOOOOOO tired. I wasn’t yet really over my strep, let’s just say that my hormones were raging a bit, and I had travel a lot in the last 2 weeks. But it had to be done.

My dad came to my rescue quite a bit and came with me. Actually, he drove there. This was a HUGE blessing because it meant I got to nap for an hour in the back seat of my car.

We made it to D.C. just 20 minutes before my guy work up to go for work and I’m pretty sure my dad and I were were both asleep before we even landed in beds.

Three and a half quick hours later, we were back on the road to Michigan. Technically we could have stayed a night there but I had this gut feeling that if we did, I would seriously regret it in the coming days.

Let me tell you…. I am SO happy we didn’t stay. I cam home to a beckoning to do list for the wedding I had ignored for the last 2 weeks as well as the preperation for my sweet nieces first birthday party.

One week later, everything got done… by man oh man was it a struggle.

Every bit of it was worth it though to hear about my soon to be hubbies new job and how he is loving it as well as the wonderful birthday party for my little munchkin of a niece.

In fact, here are a few pictures of just how great it was.

bd girl

cake

And finally… the picture and shows her personality best!

download_20140718_133417

So back to those questions… where has this summer gone?

The answer: to enjoy life because it cou;dn’t do so if it hung around with me these last few weeks.

Where did I go?

To Nashville, the D.C., back to Nashville, home to Detroit, then again to Nashville, back to D.C., Detroit, D.C. and finally back to Nashville.

Where the heck is the sunshine?

I have no idea… I asked the farmers almanac but I got nothin 😦

Have a happy Hump Day friends and let me know if you want to keep me company when I go back to D.C. in a few weeks to make my final move before the wedding!

One thought on “Catching Up

Leave a Reply

