The New Food Labels

Do you look at food labels when deciding what to eat?

Research says that those who look at food labels are more likely to get and keep unwanted weight off. The reason for this is because people who read food labels tend to become more aware about nutrition and this leads to healthy decisions.

Recently, the F.D.A. approved a proposal to change up the food labeling system that we as Americans currently use. Here is a sneak peak a what is to come compared to what we are used to.

The New Food Labels

I personally think that this move is a good one for one main reason. I see this change as a sign that we are being heard. By we, I mean those who are asking for more honesty from the food industry so that we can make better decisions concerning our eating habits and our health. And for this, I am thankful!

With saying that, I see 2 star improvements to this new labeling system and 1 “issue” with it. So, let’s talk about them…

The Star Improvements:

  1. Servings per container in bold – I like this change because it shows people that what they are eating is probably incorrect. I know of many people who are often shocked at the serving size, and these people often wear glasses. By bolding this information, those who are attempting to read this information will be able to find it better and this will also hopefully catch the attention of some who just simply didn’t know.
  2. Removal of Calories from Fat – There has always been such a war between “low-fat dieters” and “low-carb dieters”. By removing the calories from fat, hopefully people who were to anti-fat will look at foods from a more balanced perspective with this information gone.

The Issue:

  1. Added Sugar Information – Not to sound like a hypocrite considering the second star improvement I mentioned, however I don’t like how this added sugar information makes sugar sound like an O.K. thing to be consuming. You don’ have to look hard on this blog to find out that I’m not crazy about us consuming sugar (The Sugar Series). So naturally, I don’t like people acting as though sugar, if it isn’t added, is ok. I feel like this change is only going to make the topic of sugar a little bit more confusing for the “average joe”.

What is your perspective on the new food labels? Do you agree or disagree with my opinions? How often do you look at food labels and what information do you generally look for on the label?

 

2 thoughts on “The New Food Labels

  1. I never looked at food labels until I started reading and following “the kitchen revolution”. I must admit, I had no idea what I was missing out on. Now I wouldn’t dare go into a food store without my spectacles in tow. At first I only looked at the label for “red flag” ingredients such as High Fructose Corn Syrup, now I find myself looking at carbs and fat and sugar and any other information that I can use in my quest to become healthier. Thank you for all of the important information that you supply and also, thank you for all of your time and effort and energy that go into the kitchen revolution, you are appreciated.

Leave a Reply

