Banana Chia Seed Pods

I was frantically searching for some yogurt for my screaming baby while in Whole Foods this week, when I came across “Banana Chia Seed Pods.” I thought, “I’m going to give this a try.” It was amazing!! Mia loved it so much that she ate an entire Pod by herself. But I was disgusted when I looked on my receipt and found that it was $3.99 for a small pod. So, I began searching for recipes to create this pudding myself. It’s so simple. Only three ingredients. It’s so healthy. It’s so yummy!

Chia Seeds are all the rage in today’s slowly growing health-cautious American diet. They are known as one of the richest plant-based sources of omega-3 fatty acids. They are also very high in fiber, with a whopping 10 grams in only 2 Tablespoons, and high in antioxidants, which help the body protect itself against free radicals and cancer. So, here is the awesome recipe I found thats simple and easy to make at home!

 Ingredients:

  • 1 Ripe Banana
  • 1/4 cup Coconut MILK (not water)
  • 2 Tablespoons chia seeds

*can add a dash of vanilla extract if you wish

Directions:

  1. In a food processor or blender, combine banana and coconut milk and process.
  2. Throw in the chia seeds (and vanilla extract) and pulse a few times or mix evenly.
  3. Place mixture in a container overnight and let seeds swell.
  4. Enjoy in the morning!
Leave a Reply

