March Marathon Madness

Happy Monday Friends…

I have been running and running and running. And I am sooooooooooooooooo proud of myself! My fiance and I are running a 1/2 marathon in about 7 weeks and it’s crunch time. But guess what, I don’t know what I am doing… ha!

eb0337d6d18bc954ed3a01371dbbeeb3

What I do know is that I’ve made improvement. In fact, Saturday I ran 6 miles. It wasn’t quite how I had planned it to go, but I did it non the less.

IMG_20140315_135716_edit1

I also know that stretching is vital to my running… in fact, I have been spending about 10-15 minutes before my runs stretching and then another 15 minutes after stretching. If I don’t, well I’m miserable the next day! Yesterday I created this little sequence and I think I’ll be adding it to all of my run days, because my goodness does it feel good!

Sunday Stretch Sequence

It’s amazing to me how much running long distance takes out of your core, shoulders, back and triceps. While running, I have to remind myself to draw my shoulders into my core, to relax my hands instead of clenching them and to keep my chin up.

All in all, I am having so much fun failing. I’m pretty sure part of it is do to the fact that right after I fail, I succeed!

But I still don’t know a lot… like should I run more than 5 miles at a time other than my weekly long runs?

My feet hurt… is that normal or do I need new shoes?

I know that much of my running struggle is mental, should I push through pain to get over the mental or should I give into the mental once I get to a certain point physically?

And let’s be honest, there are so many questions I have. So please feel free to tell me all about your running experiences. If not in the comments below, please consider emailing me at thekitchenrevolution(at)outlook(dot)com.

Leave a Reply

