Potato, Kale and White Bean Soup

Happy Monday friends… this week is the first week of this year that I am looking forward to. I’m really excited to keep chugging along with my healthy lifestyle changes I have made this year and to really focus in on some reading, researching and a few other projects I am working on for all of us later on this year.

Last week I did ok as far as eating and exercising went. It was a bit of an off work week and I was struggling with a bit of a cold and/or stomach bug. I still managed to lose a pound (which makes for a total of 6 lost this year) and I have yet to do any dieting!

Before I get into today’s recipe post, I thought I would show you guys what I am eating this week and how I am exercising!

Exercise –

Eats –

 

Ok, so on to today’s recipe. I had attempted to make a vegetarian salad and it failed… but then it turned into something delicious so we can call it a win after all!

Potato, Kale and White Bean Soup

PKWB Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups of Kale
  • 2 Cans of White Beans
  • 3 Medium Potatoes (variety of colors is better)
  • 3 tbsp. of Olive Oil
  • 1 Small Onion (finely chopped)
  • 1 tbsp. minced Garlic
  • 1 Cup of Water
  • 12 oz. Chicken Broth
  • 1/2 tsp. sage
  • 1/2 tsp. parsley
  • Dash of Salt and Pepper
  • 3 oz. Mild White Cheddar Cheese (optional)

Directions:

  1. Finely chop your onion and roughly chop you kale. Set both aside.
  2. In a large pan, heat on low olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper.
  3. Add your onion and kale to your large pan and place a cover on it.
  4. Allow it to continue to cook on low until the kale is wilted.
  5. Once wilted, turn the heat off but keep the pan on the burner.
  6. In a large pot, place your chicken broth and water. Cook on low with your pot covered.
  7. Drain and rinse your beans and place them to the side.
  8. Wash and cut up your potatoes and also place them to the side.
  9. After the broth and water has been cooking for about 20 minutes, add your potatoes and beans.
  10. Allow the above to cook for about 30 minutes on low before adding your kale and all that is with it in the pan.
  11. Add to your soup parsley and sage.
  12. Place a lid on your soup and allow it to cook for another 30 – 45 minutes on medium low, stirring occasionally.
  13. Once it is finished, feel free to garnish with a bit of shredded cheese.

 

Stats:

Servings per pot: 8

Calories: 206     Carb: 31 grams     Fiber: 6 grams     Protein: 9 grams     Fat: 6 grams     Sodium: 158 mg.

 

Leave a Reply

