Motivation

fitness

Hey guys, it’s me, Sarah! Yesterday I bought a Fitbit, and I have to say, I couldn’t have done it without Leah’s help! A Fitbit is a device that is used to push your fitness to the next level. It counts how many calories you have burned throughout your day, keeps track of your sleep patterns, and helps you manage your weight goals. There were so many questions I had. For example, which Fitbit has a screen? Which Fitbit is right for me? Do you need a subscription? Does it count steps and stairs? How do you know what size to get? Can I shower with it on? If you’re having some of the same questions as I did, you can find the answers at www.fitbit.com.

So now, I have to get active! This is the hardest part for me. I’m very good about changing my eating habits, but it takes everything inside of me to get my booty off the couch. Im exhausted most days, because my little sweetheart still gets up twice a night and is starting to lose her second nap. SO, how do you motivate yourself to get up and MOVE?

There are three things that help me to stay motivated:

  1. Find someone to hold you accountable, to encourage you, and hey, maybe even join you
  2. Getting equipped with resources that can help you count calories and track your exercise so you know exactly where you’re at during the day so there is no guessing (For example: Fitbit, BodyMedia Fit Armband, MyFitnessPal, and LoseIt!)
  3. Research Fitness, Healthy Eating (learning to read labels), and Food Substitution

I cannot wait for Leah to blog about how sitting for most of your day is the new smoking. It literally kills you, causing tumors and disease. I think most of us Americans go to our job without eating breakfast, sit at a desk all day, and drive our cars into our garage only to sit down to a dinner in front of the TV. Let’s face it, we need all the help we can get!

The reason that I like devices like the Fitbit, BodyMedia Armband, and MyFitnessPal, is because it spells out exactly how much activity you have gotten during your day, the quality of sleep you are receiving, and you can also track your food consumption so that there is no guessing. This has been the single most eye opening realization for me through my weight loss journey. I thought I was eating good, but once I logged it into MyFitnessPal and saw how much sodium, calories, and sugar that was actually in the food I was inhaling, I WAS SHOCKED.

So join me in getting healthy and making REALISTIC, lasting goals. By the way guys, I’m down 12lbs this month! YES!

Leave a Reply

