Food and Money

My original intention for today was to post a video… my techi skills are close to non existent therefore, I failed and getting things to work. But then I saw this article… and it got me thinking. Specifically, I started to think about a recent conversation I had with a woman who told me that she can’t eat healthy because she doesn’t have the time or money.

You see, the article that I linked above is about the top 10 healthiest city’s in America. According to the American College of Sports Medicine, St. Paul Minnesota is the healthiest city in America. This is do to their ability to live healthy, between bike paths, farmers markets and high numbers of community recreational centers, this city beats out all others. St. Paul also ranks as having low numbers of diabetes!

The kicker about this study however, is that St. Paul is known to be extremely cold… for a good 4 months out of the year! In fact, the article above has a picture of a grown man in St. Paul dressed from head to toe in winter wear and riding a bike. So how do they do it?

I think the answer is that they take their health into priority. Which leads me back to the conversation with that woman… my guess is that even if she had the “time and money” to lead a healthy lifestyle, she wouldn’t. I think at times I come off as a individual who has things easy. I’ve never really been overweight in a serious health kind of way, I am single, I don’t have children and I don’t complain to much about my job so I must enjoy it.

Little do you know however, is that my genetics show to be pretty negative in terms of health and weight… although I am “single”, my fiancé lives 650 miles away and that situation is in fact stressful at times. I don’t have children, but I do have a 87 year old grandmother I live with and help out here and there as well as watch a little 5 year old for “work” during the day. I am also back in school full time trying to accomplish some certificates. My health, must be a priority if I want to feel good, like the way I look naked and enjoy life in general. I sometimes have to get to the gym twice in one day so that I can fit in 2, 15 minute workouts, otherwise I’ll never get it done. I say “no” to all things bad for me during the week and instead eat vegetables like crazy other wise I gain weight.

Listen, I’m not saying I’m perfect… in fact, I’m far from it. I am saying it’s time for us to take our health into consideration, time to make our food a priority and our bodies something we can enjoy. I’m not talking about a 100% change here… I’m talking about small changes. In fact, if you make a simple 10 % change this month (cut out soda, stop eating fast food, making your sleep something you fight for), in less than a year, you will have made a 100% change.

I think you are worth it… I think you are valuable enough to deserve better. I also think that we often lie to ourselves when we say we don’t have the time or the money… after all, we watch T.V., surf the web, text like maniacs and go out to dinner multiple times a week. That time spent on social media and waiting for food on your lunch break, well it could be used to go for a walk, do some push ups or even make your own lunch.

We have the time and we have the money… maybe the problem is that we don’t have the will power. So I ask you today, instead of believing that you don’t have the time and the money, the energy and the resources will you reach out to me or someone else you know who can help you prioritize better? I believe, and chances are the people around you do too, that you ARE worth it. You are worth feeling good, getting better sleep, enjoying people instead of only enjoying food and good self esteem.

And now I boldly ask another favor of you… if you don’t want to make your health a priority, will you just say that? By walking around and suggesting that the reason you aren’t healthy is because you don’t have time and money, you are actually giving other people excuses and reasons to think that THEY can’t.

All of this has been on my heart because I have had a hard week. The weekend was even more difficult than last week, and I’m putting 110% into getting back up on the horse and making this week worth something. I’m having to remind myself today to think positively rather than negatively and to just try (to eat healthy) for one more minute… one more hour and one more day! Let’s accomplish good health together today!

Leave a Reply

