Fajita Chicken Salad

For as much as I love all things health, nutrition and food; I’m not really a fan of salad. I think I ate so many salads during different stretches of strict dieting over the years that all in all, I’m just a little over salads. Because of this, I challenged myself to make some delicious but different salad recipes during my time in Nashville.

One day while wasting time on Pinterest, I came across a picture of chicken fajitas. They looked delicious; however, immediately I thought about all of the calories it would come with. Afterwards, I thought, what if I incorporated chicken fajitas into a salad? I then proceeded to get the ingredients necessary to make the traditional fajitas, minus the tortillas. I tweaked the recipe a little by laying all the ingredients on a bed of romaine lettuce and I was very satisfied with the results.

Chicken Fajita Salad: Serves 2

Chicken Fajita Salad

 

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz. of Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast
  • 2 tbsp. Annie’s Cowgirl Salad Dressing
  • 1 tbsp. Chili Powder
  • 1/2 tsp. Garlic Powder
  • 1/4 tsp. Onion Powder
  • 1/2 tsp. Paprika
  • 1 tsp. Black Pepper
  • 1 Cup Water
  • 1 Large Green Bell Pepper
  • 1 Medium Scallion
  • 1/4 Small Yellow Onion
  • 2 Roma Tomatoes
  • 8 Romaine Leaves

Directions:

  1. In a small bowl, combine Annie’s Cowgirl Salad dressing with chili, garlic and onion powders, as well as paprika and black pepper and set aside.
  2. Cut up Chicken into bite size pieces.
  3. Place chicken, water and sauce in a large frying pan.
  4. Cover and cook on medium-low heat for 5 minutes, stir or toss chicken often to ensure full coverage in the sauce.
  5. While the chicken cooks, slice up and set to the side green peppers, scallions, onion, tomatoes and romaine.
  6. After 5 minutes of cooking the chicken, add into the pan the green peppers, scallions and onion.
  7. Place the cover back on and cook again for another 15 minutes, still stirring or tossing often.
  8. In serving bowls, place romaine, tomatoes and cheese.
  9. Once the chicken is finished cooking as well as the vegetables, let cool.
  10. After the chicken has cooled, assemble salads.

Nutrition Stats:

Calories: 227     Carbs: 13 grams     Fiber: 5 grams    Protein: 21 grams   Fat: 12 grams   Sodium: 244 mg.

I recently learned a little trick concerning salad dressing. I don’t know about you but I have a hard time only using the proper portion size in my entire salad. So I started cooking either my meat or some of the veggies I’m using in my salad, in the dressing that I am planning to use on my salad. This really helps the flavor go farther all the while restricting the unnecessary calorie intake. Try it sometime, I promise you will be surprised at how well it works.

2 thoughts on “Fajita Chicken Salad

  1. Pingback: Potato, Kale and White Bean Soup | THE KITCHEN REVOLUTION

  2. Pingback: Summer Recipe Round Up | THE KITCHEN REVOLUTION

Leave a Reply

