Mongolian Beef

Mongolian Beef

M.S.G., wheat, refined sugar, gluten, dairy and partially hydrogenated oils.

That is what you will find in most versions of Mongolian Beef. How do I know? Well you see, Coop loves Mongolian Beef and back in Michigan he and my grandmother would often get Chinese food for dinner. For a while, I faked liking the food and ate it with them. Then one day, I spilled the beans, and told him that I don’t like it. I would eat it because I felt bad messing up their tradition of Chinese food with a side of Steve Harvey’s show Family Fued. The main reason I told him that I would no longer be taking part in their Chinese tradition was because of how absolutely terrible I would feel the day after eating the food. I almost always had a terrible headache, unbelievable stomach pains and my skin broke out like I was 14 years old again.

I did some research and was somewhat surprised to find out that they put nothing but garbage in that food. I expected some garbage but I’m telling you there is NOTHING good for any human being in that Chinese food.

This lead me to more research. My question became, how can I possibly recreate this dish without using anything bad, at all in it?

Here is the answer…

 MB Essentials

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp. Annie’s Sweet BBQ Sauce (1)
  • 1 tbsp. Organicville Island Teriyaki Sauce (2)
  • 6 tbsp. Bagg’s Liquid Aminos (3)
  • 1 tsp Garlic
  • 1 tsp Lemon Pepper
  • 1/8 Cup Water
  • 1/4 Cup Coconut Sugar
  • 1 tbsp. Olive Oil
  • 1/2 lb. of Flank Steak
  • 1/2 Cup Quinoa Pasta
  • 2 Large Green Peppers
  • 1 Small White Onion
  • 3 Medium Scallions

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl, combine BBQ, Teriyaki, and Amino Sauces.
  2. Stir in Garlic, Lemon Pepper, Water, Coconut Sugar and Olive Oil.
  3. Set Mixture aside, covered, and in the refrigerator.
  4. Slice Flank Steak against the grain and removing any fat.
  5. Once the Steak is sliced, add it to the mixture in your refrigerated and allow it to marinate for 4-6 hours.
  6. Once marinating time is close to completed, place quinoa in a medium sauce pan and boil.
  7. In the mean time, slice up peppers, onions, and scallions.
  8. In a large skillet pan, cook the steak, vegetables, and the remaining marinade on low for 3-5 minutes. Cover the pan with a lid and stir often.
  9. Turn up the heat to medium-high, with the lid still on and stirring occasionally for another 5 minutes. This should allow for the steak to have cooked all the way through, as well as the coconut sugar to have caramelized the remaining marinade into a thicker sauce. Vegetables will be cooked but still slightly crunchy rather than soft.
  10. While the previous step is taking place, remove quinoa from it’s sauce pan and drain.
  11. Place cooked quinoa in dishes and top with finished steak, vegetables, and sauce.
  12. Enjoy!

 

mongolian beef 2

Nutritional Stats:

These don’t seem like great stats, however if you compare them to your average take out order on Mongolian Beef, they are leaps and bounds better. This recipe is great for a “splurge” meal in which you really aren’t splurging in retrospect!

Calories: 276     Carbs: 26 grams     Fiber: 4 grams     Protein: 29 grams    Fat: 6 grams    Sodium: 1275 mg.

One thought on “Mongolian Beef

  1. I gotta say, I truly enjoyed this one. A fav Asian dish of mine, except this time it was much healthier and tastier than any Asian restaurant.
    Loved it 😀

Leave a Reply

