Cool New Things

gifts

Before I get into the goods, I just have to say that this Christmas was impressively special. Not only did Coop surprise me and come home a day early but there was also a relatively serious ice storm in Michigan that knocked out my parents and some other family members electricity for 3 or 4 days leading up to Christmas. In fact, my parents were told that there would be no power for Christmas however by the grace of God we they got their power back Christmas Eve afternoon. It seems like the last few years, my family and I have seen the goodness of God in really remarkable ways a day or two before Christmas. For me, it just makes Christmas day that much more wonderful.

Now to the gifts πŸ˜‰ My family did me good this Christmas. The cool thing is that after I opened my gifts, all I could think of was “I can’t wait to share this on the blog!”

On Christmas Eve, Coop and I exchanged gifts privately. This was mainly because although I knew what I got him for Christmas and that he would enjoy it… I didn’t know how to explain his gift. Coop is a tech-aholic (something I definitely am not) and for Christmas I bought him something called a Leap Motion. It more or less allows him to control his computer with his hands in air rather than with a mouse or keyboard/pad. When I gave him his gift I had to show him a video from youtube about it because I knew that my description would not do the product justice. If you don’t know, Coop’s parents are were not born here and speak broken English. If I would have done this in front of them, well I’m pretty sure they would have thought I was an idiot.

Coop really amazed me and I am so unbelievably thankful for the gifts he got me. As an lover of books, I was so thrilled to get the book The Daniel Plan. It’s new to the market and extremely resourceful with information on nutrition, faith and bringing friendship into healthy living, as well as meal plans and recipes. I am absolutely loving it so far. Next up Coop got me a fit bit! I don’t know if you remember but that was on my “wishlist” that I posted here. I was flabbergasted by this last gift. It’s called the hapifork and it is unreal! This fork has a computer chip in it that tracks the bites you take and how quickly you take them. If you are eating to quickly, it vibrates to tell you to slow down. Then, when you are done with your meal you can plug your fork into the computer to see your report sheet. The report sheet includes how many bites you took during your meal, how often, and how many times you ate to quickly.

Christmas Eve night, Coop and I were at his parents with his sister, her boyfriend, and two family friends. We had a wonderful night and I was gifted by his parents with a great pair of running capri tights as well as a a running hoodie. I especially love the tights because they can be added to my winter wardrobe by putting them under pants or wearing them as is during the summer. The hoodie, on the other hand is only a cold weather piece, which is more than fine since I reside in Michigan.

Around 11 p.m. I headed over to my parents to stay the night there. I brought Coop’s dog with me and we got a whopping 4 hours of sleep due to her missing Coop. The next morning we woke up and all of my siblings, their spouse and children as well as a few family friends came over. We had brunch and exchanged gifts. My parents gave Coop and I a roku… I’m not good at explaining what it does however it gives you much of the benefits of cable without having to actually purchase cable every month! Next they gifted me with a new juicer which I was in terrible need of. My parents also got me socks… I needed socks so bad which I am pretty sure makes me an official adult. I remember when I was younger and thinking that socks were a terrible gift but now I find so much value in them, hahaha.Β  Finally my sister-in-law (my family drew names for gifts) gave me a personal smoothie machine/blender.

I was also gifted with many other things from family and friends however they don’t really apply to fitness or technology.

What did you receive for Christmas this year?

Was there anything, other than materialistic things that defined this Christmas as special for you and your family?

2 thoughts on “Cool New Things

  1. I love this post as I love Christmas and just the togetherness that holiday brings.

    We spent Christmas at home with my parents and my husband and our 3 children.
    We absolutely loved it as the night was filled with laughter and good times.

    I got a new laptop that I desperately needed and we focused our gifts mainly on the children because we enjoy seeing their faces light up and making them happy.

    I’m glad you got good gifts and I’ll have to research that fork thing. Sounds like a nifty little thing to help you stay healthy.

    As always, thanks for sharing and keep up the good work πŸ™‚

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year dear!

  2. I’m glad Santa was good to you this year.
    You must have been good all throughout the year in order to end up on the nice list πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the presents beautiful.

Leave a Reply

