Consequenses

There has been some recent news about a little something called Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy. It is a disease that is the result of brain injury. The thing is thouis, that pro-athlete’s are the individuals making the news concerning this disease. Between Pro-Football players and Pro-Baseball players, a whole lot of talk is happening about what many are calling C.T.E.

All in all, this disease is extremely unfortunate and definitely needs the attention it is getting. If you would like to read more on it you can do so here and here. I think that parents of high schoolers especially and coaches need to pay much more attention to this topic as well as that of concussions.

All of this is to say that I think something else can come from this new information. Time and time again, we are seeing that disease is linked to actions. Take for instance H.I.V., this disease is directly linked to actions and by this I mean I cannot get it by just simply being around someone who has it. Or how about Type II Diabetes? You cannot be born with Type II Diabetes and definitely cannot catch it. No, instead Type II Diabetes comes from individual actions.

Please understand that I am not suggesting ALL disease comes form actions as that definitely isn’t the case for diseases such as A.L.S., Muscular Dystrophy, Cystic Fibrosis and many more.

However, so many are. So many diseases are coming about without a cure but a direct link to personal choices in terms of health. We have a choice.. we have a choice to say yes to extra portions, poor micro-nutrient foods and drinks that are full of sugar.

I don’t say any of this in a condemning way, because this truly is an area of struggle for me. Honestly, I feel like I can’t talk about it because I’m supposed to be “good” at this. After all, I have a blog about healthy living. A few days ago however, I read another blog in which the author spoke about the appreciation of genuinity. It inspired me to speak honestly with each of you in hopes that I can perhaps help anyone who might also be feeling the same way as I am.

I have chronic headaches and I have had them for years. I also have a food allergy to yeast as well as sensitivities to wheat (not gluten) and dairy. My chronic headaches are definitely linked to my food – sometimes it seems to be linked to sugar. The point of all of his is to say that I like food, some foods reek havoc on my body and I yet somehow still struggle to get them out of my diet for good.

The other night I was watching a documentary on nutrition, and this popped into my head.

denial 2

I’m not perfect at this healthy living thing, and part of me is thankful for that. I want to be a voice that says “I’m not there but, I’m still trying” and “I’m not perfect but that’s ok”.

Deep down, when I put my pride aside… I think I need to be more vocal about my struggles with all of you. And not so very deep down inside, I think be more vocal about my struggles will help all of you.

Thank you for being such compassionate and kind readers, and I genuinely look forward to a more open relationship with all of you.

One thought on “Consequenses

Leave a Reply

