The Great Veggie Toss

The last time I was at the farmers market, well I panicked. All I could envision was the cold month of January and the lack of produce that is even slightly appealing at the grocery store. So naturally, in my state of panic, I shopped!

I bought peppers and broccoli, snap peas and zucchini, carrots and sweet potatoes, tomatoes and cucumbers. Then I went home and thought to myself “What in the world am I going to do with all of this?” I had about 2 pounds of everything, and although the cucumbers and tomatoes go very quickly as a greek salad, I was concerned that the rest of the goodies would go south quickly without being used.

So, I rinsed everything off, then I chopped it all up, then I put everything in a rather large bowl, drizzled with olive oil, red wine vinegar, lemon juice, minced garlic and finally a dash of salt and pepper. I covered those delectable beauties up and put them in the refrigerator. The next night at dinner, I laid them out on a baking sheet and baked them for about 25 minutes at 350*.

These veggies ended up being amazing! The flavors went so well together and they were all so soft on the inside with just a bit of crunch on the outside. In fact, they were so wonderful that I ended up making it again this week! This time I used a mix of frozen and fresh veggies and it was just as great.

 

theveggietoss

This is a picture of the second time I made it. It went wonderful with lemon-garlic tilapia and man-oh-man are these veggies filling. I think part of their beauty is not only how all of the flavors complement one another but also how balanced the carbohydrates are in this side dish. You get plenty of carbohydrates from the sweet potatoes and carrots but then the fiber and water in the rest helps to reduce the feeling of bloat that you get with some heavy carbohydrate dishes.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Large Bell Pepper
  • 1 Large Head of Broccoli
  • 1 Large Sweet Potato
  • 1 Large Carrot
  • 1 Large Zucchini
  • 1 Pound of Snap Peas
  • 5 tbsp of Red Wine Vinegar
  • 3 tbsp of Olive Oil
  • 2 tbsp of Lemon Juice
  • 1 whole Garlic Clove minced
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Rinse and then chop all veggies.
  2. Place veggies in a large bowl and season with vinegar, olive oil, lemon, garlic, salt and pepper.
  3. Tass veggies around within the bowl multiple times to make sure of complete coverage.
  4. Cover the bowl and refrigerate for at least 4 hours.
  5. Set over at 350*, place vegetables on baking sheet and bake for 25-30 minutes.

 

What is your favorite way to get all of your servings of vegetables in during the winter?

If you have tried something like this in the past, how do you like it?

One thought on “The Great Veggie Toss

Leave a Reply

