A Holiday Challenge

On Saturday, I got my oil changed. It was the best 40 minutes of my day! In fact, I read in my quite car for 40 minutes, without cell phone calls and no one in my backseat asking if she they could have a sip of my water.

The thing is, my life isn’t that hard. Yes, I do come from a large family and I have the opportunity to be around at least one of them 99% of my life in which I am awake. But honestly, it’s not that bad because non of them swear at me, physically hurt me or any of the other terrible nonsense that goes on with some families.

As we get closer to the holiday season, I don’t see my attempts to get “me time” decreasing at all. In fact, if you are anything like me, the days will seem to get a bit longer and the to-do lists a bit larger. Then I had an idea…

Holiday Challenge

Everyone starts taking care of themselves after the New Year… but we shouldn’t. This is probably because that isn’t how it should ever work, but our society is messed up. In fact, I saw a Christmas commercial the other day and it wasn’t the kind about holiday cheer or anything other feel good something. It was about toys… the word usage went something like “We’re the best toy store in the world for the best kids in the world”. It was sad in my opinion.

Anyways, back to us taking care of ourselves, and I was thinking it could go something like this…

  • 2 emails a week (from me)
  • 1 large goal and 2 small
  • Weight tracked once a week tops
  • Inches tracked every other week
  • Before Picture – for yourself only
  • Exercise 5 times a week
  • 3 days of cardio & 2 days of strength

So what do you think? Who’s in?

Here are my goals… my large goal is to work back up to running 7 miles. My small goals are; eating a salad for lunch every day until the end of the year and to lose 3 inches from my waist.

During this challenge I will be committing my Friday post’s to telling you my plan for the next week as far as food and exercise are concerned and a progress picture on Mondays.

I hope some of you are also interested in joining in on this challenge. I especially love the idea of reaching my goals while everyone is starting theirs!

Feel free to email me with any questions you have concerning this challenge and please pass the info on to others if you know of anyone would enjoy this.

6 thoughts on “A Holiday Challenge

  1. I’m in and this sounds like a great idea.

    My big goal is to lose 20 pounds by beginning of Spring.
    My small goals are to do more cardio and replace pop with water.

    I’ll keep you informed on the progress.

  2. I would love to but to be honest between working out 5 days at the gym, family time, the diet I’m already on, and every day life, I don’t think I’ll be able to do this.
    I’m sorry leah 😦

Leave a Reply

