A Case of The Sugars

sugarseries

When I was younger, I remember hearing this phrase often.

“Their child has a case of the sugars”.

It’s what people would say when my cousins and I would get hyper…. I honestly believe that people thought our parents fed us pixie-stixs for breakfast. However, in their defense, my 2 cousins and I barely ever stopped running.

But can you image that? What if a parent did indeed feed their child Pixie-Stixs for breakfast?

Well guess what, what you are feeding your child for breakfast may not be any better than a Pixie-Stix. In fact, I had a hunch that a Pixie-Stix is just as nutritious as most breakfast cereals out there… so I did a little research and found out that I was right! Let me break the numbers down for you….

A 1 Cup serving of Apple Jacks which is marketed as a “whole grain” and “a good source of fiber” has 110 calories per serving. A serving of this cereal (I tried to pick one that wasn’t terrible but still realistic) has 25 grams of carbohydrates and 12 grams of sugar (cite).

A giant, 21in. Pixie-stick which is marketed as the best party favor in the world is only 110 calories. This not so small birthday party companion has 26 grams of carbohydrates and 26 grams of sugar (cite).

Here’s the kicker… when you add a 1/2 Cup serving of skim milk (which your kids aren’t drinking, but sure let’s allow the FDA to humor us in that way) to that bowl of Apple Jacks, you beat out that GIANT Pixie-Stick in the carbohydrates competition.

In this post, we discussed how carbohydrates are in fact sugar… just in the making. So how then are we supposed to feel about the fact that some of the “best” cereals and breakfast foods for our children (that are realistic monetarily and totality)  are not any better than the birthday-party-favor-candy that all parents hate?

And considering we learned in this post about the effect sugar has on the brain, well, I’d have to say all this “news” about children whom have been diagnosed with A.D.D. having nothing to do with their nutrition is, well… a bunch of garbage!

This isn’t me suggesting that all children with A.D.D. are just eating grains, processed carbohydrates and sugar day in and day out, which is why they won’t sit down. No, instead I am suggesting that they are children, that they have a lot of energy and also that a single doctor take into consideration a patients (the child’s) diet.

If you don’t believe me… check out what a doctor had to say about this very subject here.

And for your reading pleasure, here is a list of the 10 worst breakfast cereals in terms of sugar.

2 thoughts on “A Case of The Sugars

  1. OMG!!!! That whole Apple Jacks versus the pixiestick test blew me away. I wonder what else kinds of cereal claims to be “good for you” and isn’t. I love reading your blog. I’ve learned so much so far and look forward to learning some more.

    • Thank you so much for the encouragement. That is the “beauty” of mainstream media and their take on health, so much of the truth isn’t realized by most people because of titles like “whole grain” and “fiber”.

Leave a Reply

