Venison 3 Bean Chili

If Coop would have been here… yesterday would have been one of the best days of my life.

I woke up in the morning and went to church with my family, followed by brunch. After I came home and spent an hour or so with my grandma. She then left with my uncle for a family funeral and I stayed back. I started cooking, which you all know is something unbelievably relaxing for me and before I knew it Ray LaMontagne’s music was playing on my laptop. I had a light dinner and then an hour later I made it outside for a long run. There were only a few clouds in the sky, a crisp wind and with every stride I felt a little bit lighter. It was perfect!

It was one of those days in which I purposely stopped often to soak up the moment and be thankful for my blessings!

But back to the kitchen and what I cooked up…

Yesterday was the first day of fall so it only seemed right to cook up something perfect for cool afternoon. Something that would be hearty, filling, delicious, and most of all… healthy!

3 bean venison chili

Venison 3 Bean Chili…

Ingredients:

  • 1 Can of Diced Tomatoes
  • 1 Can of Tomato Sauce
  • 1 Can of Kidney Beans
  • 1 Can of Tri-Colored Beans (Pinto, Black & Kidney)
  • 1 Pound of Venison
  • 2 tsp of Chili Powder
  • 1 tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1 tsp of Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1 tsp of Salt
  • 1 tsp of Pepper
  • 1 Small Onion

Directions:

  1. Soak your venison for about 20 minutes in hot salt water.
  2. Squeeze the venison in your hand to ring out the water and then place in a frying pan.
  3. Salt and pepper the meat lightly then brown. Concentrate on breaking up the meat with a wood spoon so that the meat is very finely browned.
  4. While the meat is browning, drain and rinse your beans and then place them to the side.
  5. Chop your onion and set that aside.
  6. In a large pot, empty your cans of tomato sauce and diced tomatoes.
  7. Once you venison is browned, combine with beans and onion, and then place into your large pot.
  8. Add your spices into your chili and then let cook on low with a top for 2.5 hours, stirring occasionally.

Now before you throw out this recipe, please let me explain a few things.

The reasons I use venison instead of turkey are because one… my brother and I hunt so venison is easily available. Two… venison is unbelievably lean which makes “healthify-ing” recipes very easy. Also, I hear often someone say they don’t like venison. Generally speaking I ask them why and they say it tastes to strong. I then ask if they (or whoever prepared it) soaked the meat before cooking it and 99% of the time I get a “no”. By soaking venison, you take away the rich blood in it which lightens the flavor.

This recipe does take a lot of time, but one thing I can promise you is that by cooking broths, sauces and chili’s you enhance the flavor which allows you to reduce the overall need for salt. For me, this is a no brainer especially if I can cook these types of things in advance or on days when I have time to spend at home.

I really enjoy the 3 different types of beans in this chili. It allows for great fiber, a great supply of healthy carbohydrates and fats, and also delivers an overall better range of nutrients. The 3 types of beans also give a better feeling of full which is great if you have growing boys around or men who like to eat a lot while watching football.

Well friends, that is it for me today. I hope you are having a great start to a new week and don’t forget to enter Friday’s giveaway if you have yet to! The winner will be announced tomorrow and emailed for shipping information.

One thought on “Venison 3 Bean Chili

  1. Pingback: Potato, Kale and White Bean Soup | THE KITCHEN REVOLUTION

Leave a Reply

