Simple Classic Sauce

I think there is a bit of a miss-conception about Italian food. I say this because my mom’s family is Italian and I have been throughout Italy. More often then not, Italian food is considered “cheat” food or non diet food. However, if you think about authentic Italian food and if you visit Italy and even eat at some of the authentic un-touched by tourist cafe’s and restaurants, you would probably start to disagree.

In many of the small villages of Italy where you find some of the most delicious food, you will also find individual gardens in the back of restaurants and very very rarely do you find a large truck parked outside delivering produce. I personally believe it’s because of the value of food and how it is appreciated as something that connects people. Much of what I saw in Italy was people pouring themselves into what they do entirely and completely. And that included making sure costumers were truly satisfied with what they were consuming as well as making sure they were receiving happiness and health.

Anyways, since my trip to Italy, my perception of pasta sauce is different. People here (including my family), load their sauce up with cheeses and meats and although it can be unbelievably delicious, very rarely in these sauces do you actually taste the freshness and sweetness of the tomatoes. I have even heard of individuals who actually put sugar in their sauce. I find that to be simple mind blowing! A side from this taking away from the taste of the actual tomatoes, these methods also cause the dish to become unhealthy.

While in Nashville this last time, I loaded up on the tomatoes at the farmers market. I think I bought about six, and two days later those bad boys were getting pretty soft. Instead of throwing them away (that’s practically a sin), I chopped them up, threw them in a small pot and made some sauce. I didn’t have the best of expectations since my mom was with us and she is the queen of the kitchen, especially when it comes to sauce. Little did I know though, my sauce would blow her mind. With just a few ingredients, these beautifully miss-shaped almost orange tomatoes that were just picked 72 hours before would become something devoured by my italian born and raised momma.

So, last night I did it again. This time for my grandma who gets the nic-name at church of “Pasta Queen”. It happened again, yet another mind blown. Neither of them thought that with just tomatoes something so delicious could be made.

It made me so happy that others could eat real food prepared by me and really enjoy it. That I was able to do something good for both their bodies and their taste buds. It also felt good that I got the approval of two woman known for their cooking.

Here it is, the easiest and simplist sauce in the world from just tomatoes that is good for you and delicious!

Ingredients:

  • 6-8 tomatoes
  • a pinch of oregano
  • 3 tbsp of parsley
  • 1/8 cup chopped red onion
  • 2 tbsp fresh chopped garlic
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp white pepper

Directions:

  1. Chop up your tomatoes and place them in a medium size pot on high with your garlic.
  2. Depending on the softness od your tomatoes, they may only need 5 minutes of stirring or they may need longer. If they seem to be hard, trust me that they will soften and stew, just be patient and keep stirring.
  3. Once the tomatoes have become sauce-like, add in all your other ingredients and reduce the heat to low as well as place a lid on your pot.
  4. Let the sauce cook for about 30 min. stirring often and adding very little water if needed (if the sauce thickens).
  5. When finished, use on anything and everything from bred, to quinoa, meats to pasta.

pasta sauce

6 thoughts on “Simple Classic Sauce

  1. Great recipe Leah, thanks for sharing.

    I like to add meat to mine and dice up some onions. Of course everyone is different but I’ll try yours out.
    I love good ol’ spaghetti with meatballs. But to be healthier I use quinoa pasta and salt-free salt. It still tastes the same but a healthier version. After all this is why I love your site.

    • Love the idea of quinoa and salt-free salt! Adding meat isn’t necessarily a bad thing, it’s just nice in my opinion to have a way to lighten things up at times. I love me some good spaghetti and meatballs, especially if my grandma makes it!

  2. Long time reader, first time commenter

    Love your blog and I couldn’t resist but to add to this post as my family is Italian and our sauce is very similar to yours. The way we prepare it is a little different but the steps and ingredients are similar. My family is heavy butter/oil eaters and your ideas are beyond helpful in making my food healthier and have it still taste good.
    My husband and son still don’t know that some of your recipes are being used instead of our old ones which means I’ve successfully changed their eating habits to healthier ones and they haven’t complained of the taste. Next try is those yummy looking chick peas instead of doritos. They’ll notice them but let’s hope they like them enough to put the chips down.

    Thanks for being an inspiration and keep up the good Work.

    • Hi Maria, first off thank you so much for coming and visiting my blog, it truly means a lot to me. Secondly thank you for commenting, it means so much that you take time out of your day to comment, it brings a smile to my face. I’m so glad you have found some of my recipes and please feel free to let me know anything you would like me to address or attempt you develop a recipe for.

      • What would you recommend for a family who loves butter pancakes and waffles with bacon and sausage? How can you make them healthier and still taste edible?

      • Thank you so much Jen for the question… I will play around a bit this week with some ideas and have a post for you next week! Absolutely love the question, because it definitely is a good one that I’m sure many people would like to know.

Leave a Reply

