Protein Tart

I love a good dessert. And in the summer they just seem to be everywhere. I decided this weekend that I would do a little experimenting in the kitchen with a dessert of my own. I was looking to make something light and fresh, sweet but not to sweet and a punch of protein in it. I know, high expectations huh?

Fortunately, with a little imagination I was able to whip up this little guy and even my diabetic dad, beyond picky sister and seasoned cook mom all loved it. My soon to be sister in law loved it so much that she is insisting a day date in the kitchen to make it again. All of those compliments are music to my heart so I thought it was time to pass the recipe on to all of you!

IMG_00000131_edit

Pie Crust:

  • 2 Cups Almond Flour/Meal
  • 2 tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 3 Egg Whites
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 pinches of Salt
  1. Combined all ingredients together and once in a large ball, place into a pie tin crust and press evenly about the tin.
  2. Bake pie crust for 15 minutes at 350*F

Pie Filling:

  • 3 C Vanilla Non-Fat Greek Yogurt
  • 3 C Lite Cool Whip
  • 1 Medium Peach diced
  1. Combine ingredients and let sit in the refrigerator for 20-30 minutes.
  2. After the pie crust has cooled, put filling in the pie crust and distribute evenly.
  3. Top with fresh berries.

This tart (as I call it) has some pretty impressive nutrient stats…

305 Calories, 19 grams of Carbs, 20 grams of fat, and 14 grams of protein. Nice, right! I’m sure there are other desserts out there with less fat and less sugar, but there is no way it taste as good as this. And honestly, I can deal with the sugar and fat knowing that I am getting as much protein as it has. Mainly, I feel this way because I know how protein makes me feel… which is full. After eating this, I was full which was a really great feeling since usually after dessert I’m looking for another snack in about 20 minutes. Oh, and by the way… this is also gluten free!

Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

