Why I joined Weight Watchers

I joined weight watchers! And honestly, I cried about it. After talking to my mom and sister, actually after trying on my wedding dress THEN talking to my mom and sister… I decided I would join weight watchers. I would like to lose 20lbs. before my wedding in Sept. of 2014, and I for saw it being difficult.

I am sooooooo lucky to be marrying a man who tells me multiple times a day that I am beautiful and perfect and other sweet, kind and loving things. But it turns out, hearing all of those things as well as him tell me I don’t need to change makes it hard to lose weight. And I really really don’t want to be crash dieting 2 months before my wedding. So I though weight watchers would be my best option. This way, I can enjoy life but still have the accountability as well as a good plan to lose 1-2 pounds a week so that a year from now I’m not rushing to do much of other than say yes to the man of my dreams.

But guess what, when it came down to it… this decision of mine hurt my pride. I sat in Cooper’s arms and got teary eyed. I felt like I really failed. How could a dietitian student need to pay someone to tell her how to do what she tells other people to do? How could this science nerd of a girl not figure out the science???

After Cooper re-assured me that I’m not a failure, I went to my first meeting. And guess what!!!! The meeting leader said something that stuck me deep into my heart. She said “Knowledge is useless if not applied”. That was it! That is what I needed to hear. I needed the encouragement that as this year goes on and time flies by, as money gets dished out and arrangements get made, I just have to apply what I know. And after my second meeting, well I fell in love. I felt like I had friends who were going through what I’m going through in one way or another and it felt good to know that every week, we are going to show up with each other and keep chugging along in a healthy way to reach our goals.

What ever it is that you are doing to reach your goals, how ever you are doing it… keep going! It doesn’t matter if it doesn’t look the way you thought it would or if the people around you are on board with the way you are executing your plan. Today will be the past tomorrow and the decisions we make today, will be tomorrows history! So make tomorrows history something you will be proud of!

*** Edit, after attending my second meeting this morning I am down 2.2lbs this week for a total of 4.7lbs.***

4 thoughts on “Why I joined Weight Watchers

  1. WOW!
    I love hearing this because I was a member of WeightWatchers and quot after 2 months when I didn’t see any real results. I only dropped 3 pounds (well 3.5) in two months and either I wasn’t doing something right or it didn’t work.

    I think I may just reconsider.

    • I’m on the new program, so that may have something to do with it. It has been so nice for me because I really haven’t changed my eating other than my portions. I think the fact that I eat the right foods already has helped to speed up my results.

  2. I have joined weightwatchers for over a year now and I love it.

    Keep it up and there is no shame in getting some help girl!

Leave a Reply

