Burger

I love me a good burger, but the regular “healthy” burger gets old. At least in my opinion. And that can become an issue during the summer. So rather than just place my burger on a bun and load it up with not so healthy items such as cheese, mayo and BBQ sauce, I had a little fun in my kitchen to make something a bit more yummy all the while NOT breaking my calorie bank.

This burger has a bit of a kick and when paired with cool crisp lettuce as your bun, along with sweet relish and the tangy-ness of light southwestern ranch dressing, well let’s just say it’s quite the crowd pleas-er. It most definitely does not undo my workout and actually has quite the macro-nutrient punch as well. SO here is my new summer burger recipe!

Combine 1/2 pound of turkey with either 1/2 pound venison or lean beef.

Add to the above meat, 1 egg white, 1 tbsp onion powder, 1 tbsp garlic powder and 1 tsp of pepper flakes and combine.

Form meat into small-medium size patties. When I do this, I get 6 burgers.

Place on a hot grill and let cook on medium for about 6 minutes on each side.

Drizzle over the burgers WHILE cooking about 1/4 cup of pineapple juice. Preferably fresh squeezed.

After taking off of the grill, place on a large lettuce leaf and top with a tomato slice, 1 tsp of lite southwestern ranch dressing, a squeeze of mustard and 1 tsp of sweet relish.

The beauty of this burger is that for one, including all of the toppings, it comes in at 160 calories, 6 grams carbs, 5 grams of fat, 21 grams of protein and 200mg of sodium! Not bad for your next summer BBQ, and when the main dish is this lite, an adult drink or a small piece of dessert is much more realistic.

And if your dessert happens to be this, you definitely aren’t going to want to pass it up!

IMG-20130530-00601

My uncle has a catering company and came up with this amazing cupcake idea. It’s Chocolate and Yellow Cake  arranged to look like a hamburger, with frosting to look like mustard, relish and ketchup. The “fries” are cinnamin sticks with a sweet laze on the side for dipping (like ketchup).

I know I may be biased, but my uncle is genius! And if you live in the area (Metro-Detroit) then you should definitely look him up for your next event. His link is below.

Don’t let summer get the best of you, enjoy it with loved ones and definitely enjoy the food here and there without completely splurging. Happy BBQ-ing!

 

nicosiacatering.facebook.com

One thought on “Burger

  1. I love this, will definitely try it Leah.
    My husband loves spicy foods so maybe I can get him to try this out since it has a kick in the flavor.

    Thank you for sharing. I LOVE reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

