Homemade Skin Care

healthy skin

I’ve never had perfect skin. I’ve never had horrible skin either. But it’s always just kind of been, ok. In High School I would pile on the make up, not like a clown, but to cover any imperfection that I would see on my face. Since then, the running joke between my sister, a cousin of mine and myself is that I’ve let myself go over the last few years. Honestly though, I just don’t like the feel of all that stuff on my face any more, and I feel like no matter what I have bought/tried/borrowed, nothing seemed to clean up the mess that make up would leave behind on my face in the form of dried skin, puffy marks, pink dots and other blemishes.

About 18 months I read this post about the real reason for acne. And quickly forgot about it until two months later. The second time I read it I was hanging on to every word and digesting it (no pun intended) like a starving African child. I had never heard that acne was from food intake and I was amazed. I was also amazed with further research that after years of not letting anything that even resembled oil touch my face, that not having enough of the right kind of oil on my face was the real reason.

For the next two weeks, I searched high and low to find out more about skin care. Natural skin care, the kind that old woman across the world swear by. The kind of skin care that is native to lands and villages that have no idea what skin cancer is. My world was turned upside down. And all the information I found gave me two instructions over, and over, and over, and over again. STOP eating dairy, and use coconut oil on my skin.

The dairy part was easy, as I try to stay away from it in general. And now that I know the facts about acne and dairy, when I think back to my sickest (tummy wise) times, my skin was the worst. But the coconut oil, let’s just put it this way… I had told my self I would start using oil on my skin on a Tuesday for that Thursday, Wednesday night I has a dream that my mom was standing over my head placing chicken on my forehead. She was frying the chicken on my greasy gross forehead! A little bit paranoid, huh?

Thursday came about and I did it. Friday I woke and inspected every inch of my face. And guess what… my face seemed soft, exfoliated, and bright. I was in awe. So I looked for more recipes and since then have three that are staples to my routine. A face wash, a face scrub (microdermabrasion style), a face mask, and a face lotion/serum. So here they are ūüôā

Face wash:

– Mix equal parts coconut oil and sugar or finely ground salt. I generally do a large batch, 2 Cups of each.

– Add any essential oil for a scent. I don’t do this but know many people who do.

– Store in a container, preferably glass.

That’s¬†it!!!!! See how easy it is.

Face scrub:

– Mix Baking Soda and Coconut Oil to a 2:1 ratio.

РUse a very small amount (about a dime size) and massage into skin in a circular motion always working from the bottom of your face up.

– After washing off of your skin, gently pat dry and apply lotion below.

Face Mask:

– Mix about 2 oz of freshly squeezed orange juice with 1 tsp of baking soda.

–¬†The¬†consistency¬†should be a wet paste.

– Depending on the amount of acid in your orange juice and how fresh your baking soda is, the amounts above may differ.

РOnce the consistency is reached, apply to your face like you would a store bought face mask.

– Once dried, apply another layer.

– Keep repeating this until you cannot see through the paste/mask to your skin.

– Let sit for about 10 minutes and rinse off. Gently pat dry and apply lotion below.

Face Lotion/Serum:

– Take coconut oil and massage it into your skin.

THAT’S IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hello easy!

Now as I write this, I’ll be honest and say that I’m having hormonal fluctuations, but my “bad” now is what my every day used to be. I have people tell me all the time now that I have nice skin. Never before did that happen to me… not with Proactive, not with Arbonne, not with anything found at Target… nothing!

So what do you think?

Would you be up for trying any of the above homemade health products?

Do you use anything on your skin that other might look at as odd or strange?

How about coconut oil? Have you ever used that gem of an food on your skin?

2 thoughts on “Homemade Skin Care

  1. (So what do you think?
    Would you be up for trying any of the above homemade health products?)

    Yes, I definitely am open to trying new stuff, especially if they better my skin and life. Thank you for your post Leah.
    I usually use coconut oil on my skin as lotion, especially on my hands.

Leave a Reply

