Running Essentials

Part of The Kitchen Revolution is most definitely the topic of exercise. Although it may not happen in the kitchen, it does in fact affect how we behave in the kitchen.

For a few years now, I have put forth much effort in the area of running. I’ve had the opportunity to run a few 5K races and enjoyed them. Since I’m the mid-west, winter time brings forth many dreaded treadmill runs. With saying that, I am so thankful to have spring officially here in MI and have enjoyed many out door, sun in my face, creepy guys staring to much, beautiful and wonderful runs!

It occurred to me that just as I was once a newbie, you may be to. So today, I bring a few pictures to show you what I consider my running essentials.

The first thing on my list is a good pair of running shoes. I have had the bad boys pictured above for years and refuse to part with them. I currently have 4 other pairs of running shoes but hate them all for running. Everyone has unique feet and the only way to truly find out which ones are your soul-shoes is to try them out!

Next, for me is a running buddy. This cute little guy isn’t actually mine; I borrowed him from my brother. Whether a person or a pet, running with someone else makes you feel less lonely and even accountable to their pace, which at times is definitely needed!

Thanks to my boyfriend, my view of this world and it being filled with puppy dogs and rainbows has dissipated. And over the past year or so, I’ve learned that it’s better to be safe than sorry which is why I always carry pepper spray with me when I run. And if I’m being totally honest, I sometimes even sleep with my pepper spray next to my bed. Thank God for boyfriends who bring girlfriends into the real world!

I have a friend who trained for a marathon without ever listening to a single song. I DON’T KNOW HOW!!!!!! Running is my favorite time to turn up the jams and catch up on my favorite songs! And a good beat definitely helps with my pace.

Lovely Little Things

This song has been stuck in my head for like a week now and every time it plays while I run, well I’m pretty sure I almost stop running completely to sing and dance to it.

Honestly though, the main reason I bring it up is to point you in the direction of one of the great people who inspired me to go after my dreams on this blog. Her name is Jessica and she blogs as lovelylittlethingsblog.com. She is starting up her own business via the world wide web and will be amazingly successful at it. She has answered so many of my blogger questions and I can’t thank her enough. From the first time I heard this song, I thought of her. Jessica is someone who truly gets her shine on everyday by going after her dreams. Congrats Jessica, and keep shining on!

4 thoughts on “Running Essentials

  1. What a CUTE doggie.
    Loved your post and you brought up a great point to carry a pepper spray as I run. I normally don’t and now I will. Thanks Leah and I love reading your Blog. One of my favorite sites to check daily.

  2. Thank you so much for the encouragement! My boyfriend has worked in a field that sees a lot of the news worthy scary things so he gifted me with pepper spray and now it’s a bit of a security blanket for me.

Leave a Reply

